book review

BOOK REVIEW: FICTION / Celebrating the best of Bengali short fiction

Bengali literature has had a rich history of prose, beginning more or less in the early 19th century under the colonial Raj.

BOOK REVIEW: GRAPHIC MEMOIR / Understanding generational trauma through 'Feeding Ghosts'

A review of Tessa Hulls' graphic memoir, 'Feeding Ghosts' (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2024)

BOOK REVIEW: NONFICTION / Exploring The Rebel’s call to revolution

Review of ‘Bidrohi Puran’ (Pendulum Books, 2024) by Arif Rahman

FROM PAGES TO PIXELS / Why Dune stands the test of time

I recently had the sublime experience of watching the recent adaptation of Frank Herbert’s Dune (Chilton Books, 1965), a 2021 and 2023 two-part movie series directed by the passionate Denis Villeneuve. It is, in my mind, a cinematic triumph, and I am thrilled to witness the surge interest these movies have driven for Herbert’s science fiction book series of the same name.

BOOK REVIEW: FICTION / Beyond science and scope: ‘The Three-Body Problem’

The Three-Body Problem is the first book in the Remembrance of Earth’s Past (2006) trilogy by Cixin Liu, a renowned Chinese author.

BOOK REVIEW: POETRY AND NONFICTION / Poetry for our times and a poet’s new frontier

Inevitably, Kaiser Haq’s The New Frontier and Other Odds and Ends in Verse and Prose is about the poet, his poetic predilections, and situatedness at this time of human existence. In many ways it is typical of the verse we have come to expect from our leading poet in English for a long time now, but in other ways it articulates his present-day concerns in new and striking poetic measures. 

BOOK REVIEW: FICTION / The saga of a mother’s sacrifice and resilience

Anisul Hoque’s Kokhono Amar Maa-ke is the story of appalling sacrifices made by a mother and her unwavering determination to secure a bright future for her children.

BOOK REVIEW: FICTION / Should this lost novel have been found?

Articles on Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s last novel to be published by his sons against the author’s wishes built up my anticipation and I couldn’t wait for April to arrive. Thanks to Bookworm, I got my copy the moment they had it in store and I read it twice. It didn’t impress me the first time as it was just a string of chapters describing how a promiscuous woman drove herself into the arms of different men on her annual August 16 visits to a Caribbean island.

BOOK REVIEW: FICTION / It’s ‘Mean Girls’ meets ‘Heathers’ meets ‘The Craft’

The best part of this book is perhaps the fact that all the weird, bonkers cultish stuff just happens with no rhyme or reason to it.

June 13, 2024
June 13, 2024

Celebrating the best of Bengali short fiction

Bengali literature has had a rich history of prose, beginning more or less in the early 19th century under the colonial Raj.

June 9, 2024
June 9, 2024

Understanding generational trauma through 'Feeding Ghosts'

A review of Tessa Hulls' graphic memoir, 'Feeding Ghosts' (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2024)

June 8, 2024
June 8, 2024

Exploring The Rebel’s call to revolution

Review of ‘Bidrohi Puran’ (Pendulum Books, 2024) by Arif Rahman

May 23, 2024
May 23, 2024

Beyond science and scope: ‘The Three-Body Problem’

The Three-Body Problem is the first book in the Remembrance of Earth’s Past (2006) trilogy by Cixin Liu, a renowned Chinese author.

May 23, 2024
May 23, 2024

Why Dune stands the test of time

I recently had the sublime experience of watching the recent adaptation of Frank Herbert’s Dune (Chilton Books, 1965), a 2021 and 2023 two-part movie series directed by the passionate Denis Villeneuve. It is, in my mind, a cinematic triumph, and I am thrilled to witness the surge interest these movies have driven for Herbert’s science fiction book series of the same name.

May 16, 2024
May 16, 2024

The saga of a mother’s sacrifice and resilience

Anisul Hoque’s Kokhono Amar Maa-ke is the story of appalling sacrifices made by a mother and her unwavering determination to secure a bright future for her children.

May 16, 2024
May 16, 2024

Poetry for our times and a poet’s new frontier

Inevitably, Kaiser Haq’s The New Frontier and Other Odds and Ends in Verse and Prose is about the poet, his poetic predilections, and situatedness at this time of human existence. In many ways it is typical of the verse we have come to expect from our leading poet in English for a long time now, but in other ways it articulates his present-day concerns in new and striking poetic measures. 

May 9, 2024
May 9, 2024

Should this lost novel have been found?

Articles on Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s last novel to be published by his sons against the author’s wishes built up my anticipation and I couldn’t wait for April to arrive. Thanks to Bookworm, I got my copy the moment they had it in store and I read it twice. It didn’t impress me the first time as it was just a string of chapters describing how a promiscuous woman drove herself into the arms of different men on her annual August 16 visits to a Caribbean island.

May 4, 2024
May 4, 2024

It’s ‘Mean Girls’ meets ‘Heathers’ meets ‘The Craft’

The best part of this book is perhaps the fact that all the weird, bonkers cultish stuff just happens with no rhyme or reason to it.

May 3, 2024
May 3, 2024

(Re)visit to the alleys of contestation, narratives, and memories that the Partition left behind

The book discusses the lack of sensitivity among policymakers in acknowledging the distinct socio-cultural differences and linguistic and community identities of the refugees that often got merged. It explores how different categories of refugees received different treatments.

push notification